WHAT IS SAFETY MODE?

Safety mode is a free optional feature that some new Verizon Wireless data plans have. It allows cellphones to keep using data at reduced speeds after their data allowance has been used for the month. Whether it is turned on or off, this feature applies to the cellular account as a whole, and not to individual devices. When using this feature, your bill will not incur overage charges unless the safety mode feature is disabled. Once you opt in, your phone will automatically go into safety mode any month your account runs out of data.

WHAT SPEED CAN YOU EXPECT WHILE IN SAFETY MODE?

When in safety mode, you will have reduced speeds of 128 Kbps (kilobits per second). You will need to connect to Wi-Fi or disable the safety mode feature, and pay for a data boost if you want access to faster transmission speeds.

HOW DOES THIS COMPARE TO MY USUAL SPEEDS?

Assuming that your device is on the 4G network, your phone would typically see download speeds between 5 and 12 Mbps (megabits per second) and upload speeds between 2 and 5 Mbps while still within the limits of your monthly data allowance.

CAN SAFETY MODE BE REMOVED?

Yes, if you have access to your online Verizon Wireless account, you can turn safety mode on or off.

IS SAFETY MODE AVAILABLE FOR ALL PLANS?

No, safety mode is only available on the new Verizon plans.